Skip to content
July 6, 2010 / rediflex

Learning What I Taught My Father

Ten years. That’s a long way to look ahead, myself being one of those people who doesn’t even plan two days ahead. I learned this behavior from my father, who says he learned it from me when I was born. Nearly 30 years ago, my parents decided that they were doing well enough that it was time to try for a baby. Nine months later, my mother went into to hospital to deliver me unto the world, and my dad called in to work to say that he wouldn’t be in because of the occasion. His boss told him essentially “Congratulations, but when you come back, you’re laid off.” Ouch.

Looking down the road, I will be married (next year); I hope to find one decent full-time job, instead of juggling two part-times in order to get 40 hours a week. I hope to get this online vintage shop thing I’m trying to do off the ground. I’d like to be living in Arizona by about then too, but that isn’t a high-ranking priority. If it happens, it happens. I hope to continue being creative, and I’d like to learn more about photography.

What do you hope to do?

Leave a Reply

