Skip to content
October 20, 2009 / rediflex

Downtown Troy, Pt. 2

There is a lot of interest to be found in an old surface.  The ways that time alters something new into something old when no one interferes in the process leaves a unique mark on the world.  It makes you think, because if there were suddenly no one left to keep up our edifices and machinery, how long would it take before it all crumbled away to dust?  (I’m aware that there is a show on television that covers such subjects, but I don’t have cable and rarely watch TV, even when I do.)  I discovered this lovely doorway on one of my wanders about in Historic Downtown.  The weathering and time have taken away a lot of the finish on the lower part of the door, leaving a greenish blue tint behind them.

A weathered entryway.

A weathered entryway.

Of course, I have altered the image to bring out the blues a bit.  This was taken on a day with a cold grey sky, so the colors didn’t come up the way I would have liked.

In other news, I worked two short shifts at the bistro yesterday, and have discovered that I am no longer used to being on my feet for long periods of time.  Of course, the brand-new shoes probably didn’t help much.  Today I am driving down to Cincinnati to pick up some laundry and other things.  Not looking forward to all the driving, which is probably why I am procrastinating by posting all this.  But there is good cause for all these long posts.  I’m attempting to get used to doing larger quantities of writing each day, as I intend to participate in this year’s NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month).  I need to get myself in gear here, as I need to work on the outline for the story some tonight.  Good idea, I think, to have some of the story thought out and committed to paper/binary/whatever, so that I have less chance of hitting Major Writer’s Block.  I’ve never written a fiction story before, and other than blog posts, the longest thing I’ve written is a haiku.  So this is definitely going to be a challenge.  Better give myself every advantage I can.  For those of you unaware of NaNo, the goal is to write 50,000 words in 30 days.  It’s not really a competition, as long as you hit the 50k mark, you win.  I think having the challenge will help me to really complete this story.  Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

